Service Providers

Attorneys:

In Vermont, real estate transactions are typically handled by attorneys. Each party will hire an attorney to represent them. Real estate attorneys handle many important functions including conducting the closing. Prior to closing, the buyer's attorney will conduct a title search to make sure the seller has marketable title and that there are no liens or encumbrances on the property. They will help the buyer purchase title insurance if required by the lender and/or desired by the buyer. The seller's attorney will prepare various legal documents including the deed and property transfer tax return. Both attorneys will attend the closing and will make sure that their respective clients understand all the various documents that are part of the closing process. One of the attorneys, typically the buyer's attorney, will act as the settlement agent at closing. They will receive all the purchase funds from the buyer and lender and will disburse the funds to the seller and other parties as necessary.

  • Gary Ameden 802-362-3700 gary@amedenlaw.com
  • Brian Teason 802-362-2423  bteason@aol.com
  • Kevin O'Toole 802-867-5711 kmotoole@sover.net
  • Marilyn Hand 802-362-2310 mfhand@sover.net
  • John Whalen 802-362-2310 jwhalen2@sover.net
  • Joe O'Dea 802-362-2240 jjodea@sover.net
  • Matt Samuelson 802-362-2448 matt@samuelsonlaw.net
  • James Young 802-824-5200 james.young@younglawvt.com
  • Bill Schwatz 802-297-2711 wbs@schwartzlawoffices.com
  • Ray Bolton 802-447-3337 ruthieray@comcast.net
  • Jason Morrissey 802-442-0400